From A to Z

F is for Functional Medicine

 

Dr Mark Hyman and Dr Amy Myers
F:  Functional Medicine

I am so excited to learn more and more about functional medicine and by writing this I hope to influence you to learn as well.

Dr. Mark Hyman‘s definition is as follows:  Functional Medicine is the future of conventional medicine–available now. It seeks to identify and address the root causes of disease, and views the body as one integrated system, not a collection of independent organs divided up by medical specialties. It treats the whole system, not just the symptoms.

Let me ask you to do something…think about the word function.  What does it mean to you?  To me I think of functioning as operating, how something works.  Functional medicine is exactly this, finding how your body actually works and is currently working and how to help it continue to function.  Instead of prescribing a medication that masks or suppresses our symptoms, functional medicine finds the root source of what is causing the problem and “cleans” it up.  How do you clean up your body?  How do we heal our bodies hopefully in due time without medicating pharmaceutically, and by medicating naturally?  This is the journey I am now starting to help my DM go into remission and to prevent further ailments in my future.  On the grander scheme of things, in all honesty, my hope is to also help prevent disease and other ailments in my family.  Teaching my husband and son now versus waiting until it is too late.

While I still clearly see the need for our conventional doctors, after all they are the ones who have helped me live thus far and save lives everyday, I do see the imminent need for further functional medicine advancements in our society.  You may have noticed that autoimmune diseases, diabetes, other chronic illnesses, and cancers are on the rise.  So much of our environments are to account for these rises and things need to change.  We need to change the way the animal proteins we eat are fed and switch to grass fed.  We need to change the way the produce we eat are fertilized and eat organic, better yet, grown our own!  We need to lead a more active lifestyle and eat less processed foods!  Eliminate as many of the toxins that surround us and become free of what is holding us down.

Leave a Reply

