Uncategorized

L is for Labs

 L: Labs

When I first started my Methotrexate medication was when my life of routine lab visits started.  In the beginning I went in every two week to have my blood drawn.  It stayed this way for a few months and then once a certain amount of time passed I was able to drop down to only visiting my friends at the lab every two months.  The reasoning for having to have my blood drawn so often is to make sure that my body is handling the medication and not shutting down.  There are 5 routine tests that are performed every time I go:

  1. Creatine Kinase
  2. CRP, (C-Reactive Protein) Serum
  3. CBC (Complete Blood Count)
  4. AST (Aspartate Aminotransferase)
  5. Creatinine, Serum, with Glomerular Fitration Rate

If you are anything like me, these don’t make much sense to you unless you are a doctor, nurse, phlebotomist, or any other medical profession that understands these words.  What I do know is that I can see what is considered normal and what my tests come in at and that is what matters to me.  Luckily, I have been “good” so far on the levels of normalcy.

Occasionally there are other tests performed that do not need to be done so regularly.  The nice thing is it only take a few minutes every time and my labs techs are usually pretty nice and good at what they do.

Leave a Reply

