My Story

Foot and Body Reflexology…Just Do It!

I will forever be a fan of a good ole fashioned Swedish massage for relaxation but let’s face it, at an average of $90 a massage, it is not likely for this lady to get one as often as I would like.  This is where my addiction to Foot and Body Reflexology comes in.  Have you been?  Do you know what these lovely little places are?  Let me tell you and you will thank me after you try them out!

First things first, foot reflexology and massage is an ancient Chinese practice being used more than 3000 years.  It is said to prevent and help alleviate headaches, tension, asthma, constipation, sinusitis, migraines, and more. The sensory nerves of internal organs are spread throughout the body and some connect with other organs as well as skin. All of these sensory nerves are mainly rooting at the plantar of the foot. Foot massage is good for stimulation of internal organs and to improve blood and lymph circulation.


Now for the really good stuff!  When you walk in you will be greeted by the front desk attendant and you will choose your choice of service, some have more options than others.   I have found that a 60 minute Foot and Body averages out around $25!  Seriously, $25!  Even if you hate it and never want to come back to a little bit of bliss, you only spent $25 versus not liking a Swedish massage you paid $90 for, just saying!  You do not, I repeat, DO NOT, take off your clothes for this.  For this relaxing hour you will remain fully clothed but I do recommend wearing shorts or capris that are comfy and a t-shirt.  The attendant will lead you to a room with a reclining chair, not your typical La-Z-Boy that doesn’t lie flat, and the masseuse will prop your feet up on a foot stool and then your feet will soak in a hot water bath that just may have a relaxing scent of lavender or another scent you prefer.  As your feet soak you will lay back and be covered by a blanket and the masseuse will start to gently massage and apply pressure to your shoulders, down your arms, and then will work magic on your hands.  They will work this magic all around your shoulders, neck, head, legs, and then get to your warm and toasty tootsies.  You will then be asked to rotate and lay on your belly, this is when your back gets the magic touch and man o’ man does mine ever appreciate it!  Voila, you just had an amazingly relaxing and health benefiting hour!  Please note, this is what my general experience is at my favorite place.  Be sure to do your research on which location(s) you choose to go to.  Not all are created equal, as with any business, and I have had my not so great, albeit very amusing experience.  My aunt can attest to that!  I have found Yelp to be extremely helpful in making my decisions in the past.

So what does this post have to do with my autoimmunity?  So much, oh so much!  As I have said in the past, de-stressing is beneficial and key to not having flare ups.  Although my hands can be super sensitive at times, I just let them know ahead of time and they stay away from the painful areas.  I have been given this incredible gift of an affordable relaxation therapy session and I highly suggest you do the same if you have not already.

What are you waiting for?  Go!  Go get your relaxation on!

Leave a Reply

