My Story

A Birthday, a Drive, and Purpose!

 

Three years ago today at 9:12 pm my life changed forever.  This was the exact moment I became a mom.  Nothing will ever prepare you for that moment that you meet your child, hear their first sounds, smell their sweet newborn scent, and feel their soft silky skin.  
When my son was 8 months old I first started noticing my symptoms  of disease.  When he was 11 months old I was diagnosed with Dermatomyositis.  So much changed in our lives in that instant.  We were told that if we want to have more children it will be sometime before we can due to the medications I have to be on.  This is crushing to hear.  Even more crushing is the high probability of extreme flare up and symptom “wreckage of my body” after the baby would be born.  How in the world would I be able to care for a toddler and a newborn if I couldn’t  even lift my arms or touch things without cringing?!?  Needless to say, this is where my drive comes in to play even more so to find a symptom free way of life, hopefully without medications.  I want the choice to have another child to be the choice of my husband and I, NOT my diseases! 

Perhaps someday I will be able to give my sweet little man a sibling but until then I will continue to cherish every moment that I am blessed with being his mama.  He has given my life more purpose than I could have ever imagined.  

March 2nd will always be one of the greatest days of my life.  Happy Birthday Bubba, mama loves you!

Leave a Reply

