My Story

Phantom Pains


Today has been one of those days that I have been having phantom pains in my leg from the muscle biopsy that I had in the beginning phases of my diagnosis. Has anyone else ever had these sort pains? My surgery was 2 1/2 years ago and it still hurts sometimes! I am grateful to have had the procedure to solidify the diagnosis of my Dermatomyositis and start treatment but this scar is always a reminder of what the beginning stages brought for me and my family.

It’s the little things like this that keep me in check with reality.  Even though my skin looks way, way better I still have a visible, and sometimes painful, reminder of the battles I have fought.  I will never be rid of Dermatomyositis but I hope to be in remission soon and to control flare ups in the future.  Here’s hoping! 

Leave a Reply

