Recipes

My Husband and Whole30!

So there’s this fella that came into my life about 14 years ago, he’s now my freakin’ awesome husband.  I am beyond blessed to go through life with this guy.  He has been with me on many adventures, fun and not so fun, but by my side nonetheless.  So what does he have to do with a Whole30 recipe?  Everything!  Since I started my journey of a new diet lifestyle to change my life, he has been there to support, push, and yes sometimes drive me bonkers, but he is in my corner always.  He has decided to make a stand for himself by changing his eating habits and it is my turn to be in his corner.

What is Whole30?

Whole30 is a month long clean-eating program that can lead to huge physical and emotional health benefits.  It is also an elimination diet to essentially rid your body of the toxins and replenish the good.  Many people use it as a “refresh button” even after being clean for quite a while.  It is designed for a month only as a starting ground to turn your body around, learn, adapt, and develop the health that you deserve.  Check out Whole30 to find out what it’s all about.  You can do anything for 30 days, just take it one day at a time, organize, and prep!

I will say that while it is similar to my diet lifestyle, there are still components that I can not have, for instance, eggs and peppers.  We all are different and it is always best to talk to your doctor about any changes in your diet.

Today’s Recipe

My husband is the kind of guy that would rather have a quick breakfast before heading out the door than cook every morning.  In an attempt to appease that side of him I came across these little gems…Sausage Pizza Egg Muffins  Paleo, Whole30, Dairy Free, Grain Free, Gluten Free goodness!

img_2686
Sausage Pizza Muffins (Paleo, Whole30, Dairy Free, Grain Free, Gluten Free)
Ingredients
  • ¾ lb sweet Italian sausage or pork breakfast sausage, casings removed, no added sugar
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced*
  • dash of crushed red pepper
  • ⅔ cup chopped sun dried tomatoes {soften first by soaking if too hard}
  • 2 tsp Italian seasoning blend
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 9 eggs
  • ¼ tsp fine grain sea salt
  • 1-2 tsp coconut oil for cooking the sausage, plus extra for greasing muffin cups
Instructions
  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and grease a 12 cup muffin tin well with coconut oil to prevent sticking.
  2. Heat a medium or large skillet over medium heat and add 1-2 tsp coconut oil to the skillet. Add the sausage and a dash of crushed red pepper, and break up lumps of sausage with a wooden spoon. If using the garlic*, add it to the pan when the sausage is halfway browned
  3. Continue to cook and stir. Once the sausage is nearly fully browned, add the chopped sundried tomatoes and stir into the mixture. Cook another minute, then remove from heat and set aside.
  4. In a very large bowl, whisk together the eggs, onion powder, Italian seasoning, and salt. Then, pour the entire sausage mixture into the eggs and combine.
  5. Fill muffin cups ¾ of the way to the top (they’ll rise over the cups, which is fine) until the mixture is used up (I made 12) and bake in the preheated oven about 15 minutes, or until the eggs are set and the muffins just begin to brown.
  6. Remove from oven and let cool a few minutes before serving. If making ahead, you can refrigerated them in a sealed container for up to 5 days. Enjoy!

 

I changed it up a bit by adding bell peppers and will most likely add some other components next time, such as mushrooms.  These can be sealed in an airtight container and refrigerated for up to 5 days.  Although they will most definitely not be around that long!

Side Notes from this sometimes challenged chef:

  • The author says to grease the muffin tin well with coconut oil to prevent sticking.  Apparently my version of “well” was not good enough.  I used coconut oil spray and next time I will just use my coconut oil straight from the jar and lather it!  My pan will be soaking for a bit due to my lack of greasing efficiency! Oops!

img_2688

Today’s Recipe is brought to us by Paleo Running Momma.  Check out her website for so many yum worthy recipes!

 

Leave a Reply

